Swim teams wrap up Non-Scholarship titles

Photo courtesy of MCC Swimming & Diving
Photo courtesy of MCC Swimming & Diving

BUFFALO - The MCC swimming and diving teams capped another successful year by winning the Non-Scholarship Team Awards as the NJCAA national championship meet wrapped up Saturday evening.

The Monroe women placed fifth overall and captured the Spyke Johnson Award, while the men were seventh and won the Al Zamsky Award. The honors are given to the highest-scoring non-scholarship teams at the tournament.

In addition, Megan Mack posted a third-place finish in the 1650 free (18:33.33) and claimed the Female Non-Scholarship Swimmer of the Year Award. Her amazing weekend concluded as she teamed with Heather Chrisman, Hallie Marquart, and Alison Gregor to take fifth in the 400 free relay in 3:44.09.

Chrisman capped a strong meet with a third-place finish in the 200 breast (2:30.88). Marquart took home fourth in the 50 fly (27.66) and 10th in the 100 free (56.34), while Ashley VanDermeer was eighth in the 200 back (2:19.08).

On the men's side, Ben Metzger had Saturday's top individual finish as he took sixth in the 50 fly in a time of 23.82. Patrick Marsh was ninth in the 1650 free (17:54.50), and Jon Manwarren was ninth in the 200 back (1:59.71).

Maclaine Conner placed 10th in the 200 breast (2:18.66). The 400 free relay team of Caleb Puzio, Alex Parks, Marsh, and Metzger was seventh in 3:19.98.